Jan 21

Sun Devil head coach Todd Graham was one of the only 11 coaches of the 28 coaching changes in the spring of 2012 to win eight or more games in 2012.
Of those, only five first-year coaches led their teams to bowl victories:
Rich Rodriguez, Arizona
Todd Graham, Arizona State
Gus Malzahn, Arkansas State
Hugh Freeze, Ole Miss
Kevin Sumlin, Texas A&M
Overall 2012 records for first-year FBS coaches
12-0:  Ohio State (Urban Meyer)
11-2: Texas A&M (Kevin Sumlin)
10-3: Arkansas State (Gus Malzahn)
9-4: Fresno State (Tim DeRuyter), Rutgers (Kyle Flood), Todelo (Matt Campbell)  
9-5: UCLA (Jim Mora)
8-4: North Carolina (Larry Fedora), Penn State (Bill O’Brien)
8-5: Arizona (Rich Rodriguez), Arizona State (Todd Graham)
7-6: Ole Miss (Hugh Freeze)
6-7: Pittsburgh (Paul Chryst)
5-7: Houston (Tony Levin)
4-8: Arkansas (John L. Smith), Colorado State (Jim McElwain), Memphis (Justin Fuente)
4-9: New Mexico (Bob Davie),
3-9: FAU (Carl Pellini), Hawaii (Norm Chow), UAB (Garrick McGee), Washington State (Mike Leach)
2-10: Illinois (Tim Beckman), Tulane (Curtis Johnson),  
1-11: Akron (Terry Bowden), Kansas (Charlie Weis), UMASS (Charley Molnar),
0-12: Southern Miss (Ellis Johnson)

Recent comments

Blog comments powered by Disqus

Follow us on Twitter


Ask the Sun Devils